The committee consists of seven senior figures within performing arts, appointed by the Norwegian Ministry of Culture.


Suggestions for new committee members are put forward by a wide range of cultural and dramatic institutions and organisations. The committee welcomes nominations for the coming year's prize winner and consider these after the deadline expires. They travel worldwide to see performances linked to nominated parties and have several meetings before deciding on a winner.

the International Ibsen Award Committee 2019 - :

Ingrid Lorentzen
Chairman of the Committee. Artistic Director of the Norwegian National Ballet since 2012.

Anders Beyer
CEO & Artistic Director of Bergen International Festival since 2012. Artistic Director and Chief Executive of the Copenhagen Opera Festival 2009-2012.

Hilkka-Liisa Iivanainen
Theatre director, artistic director, and curator. One of the artistic directors for Tampere Theatre Festival in Finland.

Maria Delgado
An academic, curator, and critic. Professor and Director of Research at The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama, University of London.

Hanne Tømta:
Artistic and General Manager of The Norwegian National Theatre, ICON and The International Ibsen Festival.

Dr. Thomas Oberender:
Director of Berliner Festspiele from 2012. Dramaturge and author. Former director of drama for the Salzbürg Festival since 2006.

Roman Dolzhanskiy:
Theatre critic and dramaturge. Chief dramaturge of the Theatre of Nations (Moscow), artistic director of NET (New European Theatre) festival.