• Peter Handke

    Winner of the 2014 International Ibsen Award

  • Heiner Goebbels

    Winner of the 2012 International Ibsen Award

  • Jon Fosse

    Winner of the
    2010 International
    Ibsen Award

  • Ariane Mnouchkine

    Winner of the 2009 International Ibsen Award

  • Peter Brook

    Winner of the
    2008 International
    Ibsen Award

prev next

The International Ibsen Award honours an individual, institution or organization that has brought new artistic dimensions to the world of drama or theatre.

International Ibsen Awards 2014 press conference

Video from the press conference on the 20th March 2014 where Peter Handke, the winner of this years International Ibsen Awards was announced.

Winner 2014 statement

This video statement was given by Peter Handke in his home outside of Paris upon being awarded the 2014 International Ibsen Award.

«Really to sin you have to be serious about it.»

Press release - winner of International Ibsen Award 2014

Winner of the 2014 International Ibsen Award: Peter Handke. The International Ibsen Award, the world's leading theatre award, is awarded to individuals or institutions that have made a significant contribution to the development of theatre as an art form. The winner receives NOK 2.5 million.

The Committee’s statement on the 2014 winner

It is easy to imagine Peter Handke as the antithesis of the playwright Henrik Ibsen: he is an epic poet, innovative, and a trained storyteller through his translations of the works of antiquity for the stage.

The International Ibsen Award is the biggest award for contemporary artists today!

The International Ibsen Award is devoted to the work of contemporary artists who take up the spirit of aesthetic renewal and formal innovation embodied by the playwright Henrik Ibsen.
Conferred by the Norwegian Government, The International Ibsen Award is the biggest award for contemporary playwrights whose work has a similarly fundamental, transnational effect, without compromise and with a powerful pioneering spirit. (read more here)

Two new committee members

Director at Berliner Festspiele, Dr. Thomas Oberender (to the left), and Chief dramaturg of the Theatre of Nations in Moscow, Roman Dolzhanskiy (to the right), are the two new members of the Committee. The rest of the committee are: (from left: Sir Brian McMaster, Christiane Schneider, Therese Bjørneboe, Hanne Tømta and Chairman Per Boye-Hansen.

«The strongest man in the world is he who stands most alone.»

Acceptance speech

Heiner Goebbels delivered his acceptance speech at the Ibsen Conference in Skien 10th September.